Morning all..

“Be brave, even if you’re not, pretend to be, no one can tell the difference”

Here we go, first ever blog post… welcome to whatever this is, I’m hoping it will be an informative, inspiring, positive, interesting, challenging, funny and maybe a little bit rant-y blog, but there’s every chance it’ll be a load of waffle; Feel free to join in…I’m going to need all the help I can get!

I’m a 40 year old woman (still dressing like a teenager) who loves to write and is, at present, a few chapters into my 1st book, an autobiographical look at the highs and lows of 7 years of undergoing treatment for breast cancer and all the crap that goes with it. Whilst writing the first few chapters I’ve made the conscious decision not to let cancer define me anymore, it takes up way too much headspace, and it’s fairly limited up there anyway. Writing has been a cathartic exercise, a form of counselling myself, it sounds cheesy but it’s true. A cancer diagnosis can taint everything, especially during the more gruelling treatments, but essentially I’m still me!!..I still have the same issues as my friends and peers, same dilemmas, same textbook “Life begins at 40???” bollocks, albeit with a few extra hair problems.

During the coming posts I’ll be talking to few of those friends and peers about what’s going on in their world. They are a bit of a Motley Crew – from Fashion Stylists to MS sufferers, serial online-daters to Yoga Teachers. The blog will show all sorts of views, tips and stories to interject my own ramblings.

I suspect that there will still be some cancer bitching, but whilst doing just that in my book, I realize that I’m really not alone on many of the quirks of everyday life, medication related weight gain (not helped by an un-natural passion for biscuits), infertility, the ageing process, fear of fashion, the inability to meditate or practice mindfulness no matter how quiet the room, what the f**k to eat to stay healthy, hot flushes, and the overwhelming pressure to..

     “ENJOY EVERY PRECIOUS SODDING MOMENT”!!!!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

